Climate Refugee Guide Berlin:// 64 pages / About 70 color illustrations / 17 x 24 cm / Stitch-bound / Flexcover /

Peperoni Books: Climate Refugee Guide Berlin
Peperoni Books: Climate Refugee Guide Berlin
Peperoni Books: Climate Refugee Guide Berlin
Peperoni Books: Climate Refugee Guide Berlin
Peperoni Books: Climate Refugee Guide Berlin
Peperoni Books: Climate Refugee Guide Berlin

Ein Bild vor

Climate Refugee Guide Berlin

by Hermann Josef Hack


Greeting for the Climate Refugee Guide by
Katrin Göring-Eckardt 
vice-president of the German Bundestag



Dear readers,

this “Guide for Climate Refugees“ is perhaps your first encounter with a topic which so far has hardly entered public consciousness. The artist Hermann Josef Hack sees himself as a “sensor“ for social and political challenges. For years he has been drawing the public‘s attention to serious and pressing social problems with his “happenings“ on topics such as unemployment, poverty or climate change.

Hermann Josef Hack presented me with a sign marked “Climate Refugee Camp German Bundestag” in front of the Reichstag building on 20 September 2007. He thereby symbolically declared the Reichstag, the seat of the German Parliament, a Climate Refugee Camp, thus provoking a critical analysis of the social consequences of worldwide climate change. After all, each and every one of us must accept responsibility if we want to prevent the catastrophic effects of climate change – due to floods, tornados, drought and hunger.

Hermann Josef Hack’s campaign should inspire politicians. I hope that it will encourage them to take the necessary action.




Hermann Josef Hack
launched the Global Brainstorming Project in 1991. By the documenta IX
in 1992, he had already managed to interest an international public in the social consequences of climate change. Hack pioneered the use of the Internet for “social sculptures” along the lines of his teacher, Joseph Beuys, and demanded that the new media should be made available to everyone. In 1994, he launched the first videophone link from the North Pole to the South Pole and maintained contact with researchers around the world in an attempt to communicate their results to as many people as possible. Hack’s projects extend throughout the world – including Cairo, Los Angeles, Spitzbergen and the Antarctic, and even involved the D2 space mission in 1993, which had one of the artist’s works on board. They make him a global player with an eye for the interests of the socially weak and excluded. Recognized by UNESCO as a Project of the Decade 2007/2008 and awarded numerous international art prizes, Hack’s work continuously seeks new paths to activate the potential of as many people as possible in solving challenges of a global dimension. He attracts considerable publicity in the media by involving high-ranking players in his actions, such as the Federal Chancellor (“Poor Socks Carpet“) or top researchers (Polar Night). In his large-format paintings on tarpaulin, he anticipates the development of our society, powerfully but not without subtle humour.

Facts:

Hermann Josef Hack

Climate Refugee Guide Berlin

With a preface by Katrin Göring-Eckardt
64 pages
About 70 color illustrations
17 x 24 cm
Stitch-bound
Flexcover
German / English
ISBN 978-3-941249-00-4
EUR 15

Climate Refugee Guide Berlin// 64 Seiten / Ca. 70 Farbabbildungen / 17 x 24 cm / Fadenheftung / Flexcover /

Peperoni Books: Climate Refugee Guide Berlin
Peperoni Books: Climate Refugee Guide Berlin
Peperoni Books: Climate Refugee Guide Berlin
Peperoni Books: Climate Refugee Guide Berlin
Peperoni Books: Climate Refugee Guide Berlin
Peperoni Books: Climate Refugee Guide Berlin

Ein Bild vor

Climate Refugee Guide Berlin

Ein Buch von Hermann Josef Hack


Grußwort für den Ratgeber für Klimaflüchtlinge von
Katrin Göring-Eckardt
Vizepräsidentin des Deutschen Bundestages



Liebe Leserinnen, liebe Leser,

dieser „Ratgeber für Klimaflüchtlinge“ konfrontiert Sie womöglich zum ersten Mal mit einem Thema, das bisher kaum ins öffentliche Bewusstsein vorgedrungen ist. Der Künstler Hermann Josef Hack versteht sich als ein „Sensor“ für gesellschaftliche und politische Herausforderungen, mit seinen künstlerischen Aktionen zu den Themen Arbeitslosigkeit, Armut oder Klimawandel machte er schon vor Jahren auf dringliche und drängende gesellschaftliche Probleme aufmerksam.

Am 20. September 2007 hat Hermann Josef Hack mir ein Schild mit der Aufschrift „Klimaflüchtlingslager Deutscher Bundestag“ vor dem Reichstagsgebäude überreicht. Damit erklärte Hermann Josef Hack den Reichstag als Sitz des deutschen Parlamentes symbolisch zum Klimaflüchtlingslager und provozierte damit eine Auseinandersetzung mit den sozialen Folgen des weltweiten Klimawandels. Denn wenn wir dessen katastrophale Folgen - ausgelöst durch Überschwemmungen, Wirbelstürme, Dürre und Hunger - verhindern wollen, ist die persönliche Verantwortung eines jeden Einzelnen gefragt.

Hermann Josef Hacks künstlerische Position sollte eine Anregung für die Politik sein. Möge sie dafür sorgen, dass der Einsicht auch Taten folgen.




Hermann Josef Hack
gründete 1991 das Global Brainstorming Project, mit dem er schon 1992 auf der documenta IX ein internationales Publikum für die sozialen Folgen des Klimawandels interessierte. Als Pionier besetzte er das Internet mit sozialer Plastik im Sinne seines Lehrers Joseph Beuys und setzte sich kritisch dafür ein, dass die neuen Medien für alle nutzbar gemacht werden. Er schaltete 1994 die erste Bildtelefonverbindung vom Nordpol zum Südpol und hielt Kontakt zu Forschern rund um den Globus, um deren Ergebnisse möglichst vielen Menschen nahe zu bringen. Ob in Kairo, Los Angeles, auf Spitzbergen oder in der Antarktis, selbst in der D2-Weltraummission 1993, die eine Arbeit des Künstlers an Bord mitführte: Hacks Projekte überziehen die Erde, machen ihn zum Global Player mit dem Blick für die Anliegen der Schwachen und Ausgegrenzten. Ausgezeichnet von der UNESCO als Dekadeprojekt 2007/2008 und zahlreichen internationalen Kunstpreisen sucht Hacks Werk stets neue Wege, um das Potential möglichst vieler Menschen zur Lösung der Herausforderungen weltweiter Dimensionen zu aktivieren. Seine Aktionen, in die er auch hochrangige Repräsentanten wie Bundeskanzler (Arme-Socken-Teppich) oder Spitzenforscher (Polarnacht) einbindet, erreichen eine hohe Medienaufmerksamkeit. In seinen großformatigen Bildern auf Zeltplanen nimmt er auf eindringliche Weise, jedoch nicht ohne hintergründigen Witz, die Entwicklung unserer Gesellschaft vorweg.

Buch Fakten:

Hermann Josef Hack

Climate Refugee Guide Berlin

Mit einem Vorwort von Katrin Göring-Eckardt
64 Seiten
Ca. 70 Farbabbildungen
17 x 24 cm
Fadenheftung
Flexcover
Deutsch / Englisch